Fina Estampa & A Little Luck

Every once in a while we all get lucky and stumble onto something unexpected.  Sometimes it’s in the least likely of spots, such as finding a 1921 leatherstrap bottle on a convenience store shelf.  Other times, it’s simply being at the right spot at the right time.  The latter applied to me last weekend.  I decided to pay a visit to my local Specs beverage superstore since Republic Tequila had their newest Brand Ambassador on-site pouring their plata for all to taste.  After introductions, small talk and a taste of tequila, I noticed the display next to the tasting station. “Fina Estampa – This is the LAST SHIPMENT EVER”.  Could it be?  There in front of me, cases of Blanco and Añejo stacked on the floor.  I must admit, I had never tasted this brand before, but based on reviews and the recommendations of people I trust, I knew I had possibly stumbled onto something I shouldn’t just walk away from.  That’s because Fina Estampa is a brand that has stopped production and closed its doors, so to stumble upon this six-foot wall of agave goodness was potentially a dream-come-true. The only question was whether it was as good as I’d heard. So with a bottle of blanco in hand, I went home, opened and tasted.  Can I just say – WOW! The taste definitely lives up to the hype!

Drinking out of a champagne-styled glass (Riedel’s “official” tequila stemware – and yes, it really can make a difference – but that’s for another post) the blanco’s color has a slight tint to it – definitely not as crystal-clear as most silvers on today’s shelves.  It took a moment once it was in my mouth and then exploded with sweet agave flavor.  A wonderful and lingering aftertaste and tingle – not burn – on the palate. No throat burn or “fire-in-the-hole” for me with this blanco.  Taking a larger sip and letting it coat your mouth really brings this blanco to life. I’ve been drinking from this bottle for a week now and it has been consistently great.  Personally, I’d keep it away from the mixes – why alter the great flavors?  Pour it neat and savor every drop.  I was so impressed with this tequila that I’ve been back to Spec’s and bought a few additional bottles as this may be my one and only opportunity to do so ever again. Among those was an añejo bottle that I will save for a special occasion. All-in-all, another perfect example of an incredible tequila at a great price.  If you’re lucky enough to find a bottle, I’d encourage you to buy it and try it!  I did and I couldn’t be happier. Just always remember, the best tequilas are the ones you like to drink.  Salud!

Tequila reviewed in this post was purchased.

This entry was posted in Tasting Notes, Tequila Finds and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

